Tech Task #9: Are you Well Googled?

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 9.31.20 AM

This image is of my name typed into a Word document with the suggested spelling of my name. I included it to show that no… my name does not have an H in it! and also to demonstrate that this might be why I was able to easily find myself on the first page as Stepan (no H) is not a very common spelling for my last name.

Results for Googling…

Click on the link or the picture to view the screencast I created (with Jing) on my “google me” results. (Thank you to Kendra K who I got the idea from to create a screencast rather than just screenshot!)

Google me!

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 5.56.15 PMAs I explained in the video, I was not surprised by what I found when I googled myself. What I did not mention was my previous feelings about my digital footprint. I wanted to be unsearchable… mainly because I was afraid of posting anything that might affect me in the future (not that I ever post anything crazy).

I also “YouTubed” myself to see what I would find.. Here are the 3 videos I have uploaded. Not much on there at all!

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 5.51.05 PM

Hopes for future Googling…

More of my work in the classroom being found – perhaps with a classroom blog (original.. I know) or with work that my students have done in the community (a major goal for me is to have my students out in the community doing things that “matter” to them and others).

Communication with George Couros

After watching last week’s live session, I tweeted this to George (but forgot to add the #ecmo355, woops!)

Screen Shot 2013-03-20 at 6.19.27 PM

2 thoughts on “Tech Task #9: Are you Well Googled?

Leave a Reply

