Tech Task #8: Mobile 2

For this tech task, we are to find a way that we want to use QR codes and then make one.

I had many ideas about what I could do with this:

  • When sending out invitations, create a code that links to a site where people can RSVP. (But I don’t have any events requiring invitations at the moment)
  • Have my students create a QR code that links to their “about me” page of their blogs (which my students will have once I have my own classroom… always dreaming). They would put this QR code on the front of their daily bell ringer books so I could easily access each one. (But I don’t have a classroom yet)
  • Create a QR code with my location on it and tattoo it inside my dogs ear for if he gets distracted by a squirrel and takes off… (good idea.. wouldn’t want to implement it though)
  • Create a QR code to put at the top of my syllabus at the beginning of each semester so students and parents can easily access my information/website/e-mail etc. (again don’t have a classroom yet).
  • Create a QR code that links to an interesting science YouTube video. Again, as I am always thinking about education and how I can use resources in the classroom, I picture myself doing this with fun facts or other material in my classroom as something to get students “going” for the day. (again…. no classroom)

Because all of these (especially the dog one) didn’t pan out as ideas I could use (ever).. or just not at the moment, I decided to create a QR code that links to a page of my blog where I will have resources I have collected for the Science 10 Saskatchewan curriculum. For my post-internship science class, I am presenting a collection of resources that can be used to teach the Science 10 curriculum. As part of my presentation, I plan to hand out the QR code that links to this page so my classmates can easily find the information. I will be presenting this on March 28th so I will post an update after that, detailing how it goes! So stay tuned…

Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 5.01.43 PM

2 thoughts on “Tech Task #8: Mobile 2

Leave a Reply

